Whole 30 – Day 7

One week complete and I’m feeling great! I don’t feel bloated and my clothes are starting to feel like they are fitting me a little better…I can’t weigh myself until the 30 days are up but, regardless, I’m feeling good.

Since it was the last day of the week, I did a one hour Zumba class and then 20 minutes of weight training on the bosu ball to make up my three hours for the week.

I’ve planned a couple soups for this week, so I purposely made two whole chickens today so that I could make some chicken stock with the carcasses.  Normally, I make the chicken stock on the stove but this time I’m making it in the slowcooker overnight (ingredients I used are listed below). I also reserved the 2nd chicken carcass and chopped the same veggies so that tomorrow I can make another batch of bone broth.

Day 7

Breakfast: Prosciutto with fruit (pineapple/cantaloupe/mango)

Lunch: Sweet Potato Tuna patties over mixed greens dressed with lemon/evoo and a cup of the leftover curried broccoli soup

Snack: Dang coconut crisps

Dinner: Rotisserie chicken (my husband has a rotisserie feature on his grill and he bastes the chicken with evoo/s&p/onion/garlic/oregano/paprika/thyme/garlic powder/apple cider vinegar) with roasted kale chips, Brussels sprouts with bacon, and broccolini (which I loosely peeled) with garlic

We made two chickens to make sure we had plenty for leftover lunches.  I also will be using both carcasses to make some bone broth for tomorrow’s soup.

Chicken Bone Broth (aka very healthy chicken stock)

Into the slowcooker (set on low for ~8-12 hours), I added:

  • 1 chicken carcass
  • 1 onion quartered
  • 5 celery stalks
  • 4 large carrots
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 bay leave
  • ~1cup fresh parsley (I didn’t measure I just grabbed the whole bunch and tore a bunch of branches off and threw it in)
  • 1t black peppercorns
  • salt to taste
  • 1T apple cider vinegar

Once fragrant and rich in color, strain all ingredients through a sieve and discard, reserving just the broth.

At this point, you can skim the fat using a fat separator or you can refrigerate the broth and remove the top layer of fat the next day.

4 thoughts on “Whole 30 – Day 7

  1. Pingback: Italian Wedding Soup | Find the Time to Cook

  2. Pingback: Cream-less Asparagus Soup | Find the Time to Cook

  3. Pingback: Celeriac Soup | Find the Time to Cook

  4. Pingback: Whole 30 – Day 20 | Find the Time to Cook

Leave a Reply

