Whole 30 – Day 2

kalua-pork-tostone-and-guac-bites

Technically, the Whole 30 recommends eating 3 meals/day without snacking and making meals large enough to last you until the next meal.  However, as noted on the whole 30 site, it’s just that…a recommendation.  Part of my personal goal is to eat smaller meals which, at least for now, requires me to eat something between the traditional lunch time and dinner.  Require may be a strong word, but it’s relative to how HANGRY I will be 🙂

I made a little trip to Whole Foods today to stock up on a variety of snack accompaniments: Sea Snax (eat as is or sprinkle on cauliflower rice), plantain chips (to have with guac or smoked salmon), dried coconut and dried mange (to mix with nuts) and some prosciutto <cured pork and salt> (to wrap around fruit).

The frittata bites went a little quicker than planned, so I bought some organic pork to make my own breakfast sausage since these most sausage sold are full of prohibited ingredients.   I also bought some chorizo links to make a new frittata for the rest of the work week.

As a side note, I wanted to give a shout out to Steve…What are the odds…during our first two whole 30 days, his work provided omelets on Day 1 and bagels on Day 2.  He was tempted but kept walking… #StayStrongSteve

Day 2:

Breakfast: broccoli, tomato, bacon frittata bites (2 for me  and 5 for Steve), coffee, and water

Lunch: Leftover chicken bruschetta from Day 1 over lettuce

Snacks: Dried mango and a few dried coconut strips

Dinner: Nom Nom Paleo’s Slowcooker Kalua Pork (I didn’t have Hawaiian salt as suggested so I rubbed 1.5T sea salt on a 5 lb pork shoulder … I still put it over the bacon and made little pockets for about 5 cloves of garlic).  It came out great and will definitely be in the rotation again.

I intended to serve the pork over baked sweet potatoes (I even baked extra for leftovers) but they were so big, they didn’t cook in time 😦 so I will be using the sweet potatoes tomorrow for lunch and in future dishes.

I also made roasted broccoli, air-fried tostones (green plantains which are twice baked with evoo and sea salt) and some fresh guacamole (I just put the following in the vitamix: 2 ripe avocados, ~1T red onion, 1 clove garlic, 1/4-1/2c tomato, salt and pepper to taste).

Eating the tostones, guac and pork at the same time was such an amazing bite! I can’t wait to make this again!

After dinner, I prepared homemade breakfast sausage patties to have with eggs tomorrow morning.

 

One thought on “Whole 30 – Day 2

  1. Pingback: Whole 30 – Day 3 | Find the Time to Cook

Leave a Reply

