Memorial Day BBQ “Leftover Makeover” Pizza

recipe: barbecue BBQ leftovers Memorial Day pizzaI love the challenge of giving my leftovers a makeover. Not only does it make me feel great to not waste my leftovers but it’s also a time saver since most of food is already prepared.

For Memorial Day, I like to make a traditional barbecue of burgers/hot dogs and all the possible fixins (including sautéed mushroom, raw onion, tomatoes, cheese etc).  But since I never learn my  lesson on how much of the fixins to put out, I’m often left with a lot of raw onions, chopped tomatoes and sautéed mushrooms.

At first I thought I would make barbecue chicken pizza with caramelized onions but didn’t think the kids would go for that.  However, since the hubby and I loved that idea, I boiled 2 chicken breasts for 20 minutes. Once cooked, I shredded them and set them aside. I separated them and put half the shredded pieces with BBQ sauce and left the other half plain. 

I thought about making my own pizza dough but quickly threw that idea out the window once I realized how much time I didn’t have. Then I thought about buying pizza dough that we could roll out and then I remembered how much everyone in the family enjoys when I make flatbread, so I went with that. I bought individual-sized naan, which can be found at Trader Joes.

Ingredients:

  • Naan
  • Toppings of choice (my two favorite combos were BBQ chicken with caramelized onions, cheddar, scallions and the chicken cheesesteak which used the sautéed mushrooms, leftover provolone, tomatoes and onions)
  • Cheese of choice (sliced or shredded will work)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit
  • While oven is preheating, let each person make their own pizza
  • Place in oven for 5 – 10 min or until cheese is melted…and that’s it!
Leave a Reply

